Marriage License in North Carolina
ID Requirement:Types of identification accepted are a current and valid government issued photo ID, such as a driver’s license, passport, etc. You will also need proof of your social security number. If you don’t have Social Security card, a W2 or 1040 will do.
Residency Requirement:Do not have to be a resident of North Carolina.
If Divorced:If the bride or groom has been divorced, he or she must know the month and year of the last divorce. If there has been a divorce within the last 60 days, the state requires a copy of the divorce decree signed by the judge.
Application Requirement:Both parties to a marriage should appear in person to obtain the license. If one of the parties is unable to appear, the other party to the marriage must appear in person and present a sworn and notarized affidavit from the other member of the party, prior to the issuance of the license. Affidavit forms are available in the Register of Deeds Office.
North Carolina law requires all applicants to show proof of a Social Security number, or documentary proof of their Social Security number, i.e. W-2 form, payroll stub, or a statement from the Social Security Office stating their Social Security number.
If a Social Security number has never been issued or the applicant is not eligible for a Social Security number, the applicant will be required to present a completed affidavit, signed and notarized, at the time of applying for the marriage license. The affidavit form is available in the Register of Deeds Office.
All applicants, including those not present, must provide a form of identification.
- Applicants 21 and over may use a valid driver’s license, valid Military I.D, State ID, passport or certified birth certificate.
- Applicants 18 to 20 must present a certified copy of their birth certificate. Applicants 16 and 17 must present a consent form signed by the parent, individual, agency or institution having legal custody or serving as the legal guardian of the underage party. A certified copy of the birth certificate is also required. The consent form must be notarized.
- Applicants 14 and 15 must provide a certified copy of the court order authorizing the marriage. A certified copy of the birth certificate is also required.
How Much a Marriage License Cost?$60 – Cash Only.
Waiting Period:No waiting period.
Blood Tests:No tests.
- Marriage ceremonies may be either religious or civil.
- A religious ceremony is performed by an ordained minister.
- A civil ceremony is conducted by a magistrate, the only civil officer authorized to perform marriages.
- There must be two witnesses at any marriage ceremony, whether it is civil or religious.
Common Law Marriage:Common law marriage, which is recognized in some states, involves a couple living together and holding themselves out to everyone as man and wife. Even though there is no marriage ceremony or certificate, this marriage is considered valid in those states that recognize common law marriage. North Carolina is not one of those states, and no amount of living together in this state can result in a valid marriage, without a valid marriage ceremony.
Yes. First cousins MAY marry, but DOUBLE first cousins may not. Double first cousins are very rare, as the couple have to be related as cousins through both parents.
Same Sex Marriage:
Remember, you can get your license in any county and use it in any other county in the state.
Proxy Marriages:No. Both parties must be present.
Officiants:Any ordained minister of any faith who is authorized to perform marriages by his church may do so. Ministers must complete the marriage license and return it to the register of deeds who issued it.
Valid:License is valid for 60 days.
The license can only be used within the State of North Carolina.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:NC Vital Records
P.O. Box 29537
Raleigh, NC 27626-0537
Phone: (919) 733-3526
Please Note: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
Marriage License in South Carolina
ID Requirement:Drivers License and Social Security number.
Residency Requirement:Do not have to be a resident of South Carolina.
If previously married:No proof of divorce is required.
Both parties to a marriage should appear in person at the office of a South Carolina County Probate Judge and file a written application. This application asks for the full name, social security number, age, and place of residence of both the bride and the groom. It is a sworn statement that must be signed by both the bride and the groom and notarized in the office of the Probate Judge.
The fee for a South Carolina marriage license application varies depending on county. Some locales charge $50 cash for all county residents, $75 cash for state residents, and $100 cash or money order for out-of-state residents and all others.
There is a 24-hour waiting period after the application is filed before the license can be picked up and the marriage can take place. If you want to get married on a weekend, make sure you apply for a marriage license by Thursday so you can pick up your license by Friday.
No blood test or physical exam is required.
If you are under the age of 18, parental consent can be granted for boys who are at least 16 years old and for girls who are at least 14 years old. All minor applicants must file an original birth certificate or a certified copy of their birth certificate, which becomes a part of their permanent application record. The parent or legal guardian of a minor applicant must appear at the same time as the minor to present identification and sign a form consenting to the marriage.
If you are 18 years old or older, you do not need parental consent. But you must provide proof of your age (or simply identification if you’re over age 25) by presenting one of the following:
- Valid driver’s license;
- Original birth certificate or a certified copy of your birth certificate;
- Valid South Carolina identification card issued by the South Carolina Department of Public Safety;
- Current military identification card;
- Current passport.
No. Both parties must be present.
Common Law Marriage:
Yes, and both parties must be at least 16 years of age to marry.
Yes. First cousin.
Same Sex Marriage:
Ministers who are authorized to administer oaths in this state may perform marriages. Ministers must complete the marriage license and give one copy to the parties and the other two must be returned to the county judge of probate who issued it within 15 days after the marriage. Members of the Notary Public can also perform marriages in South Carolina.
There is no expiration date for a South Carolina marriage license.
The license can only be used within the State of South Carolina.
Copy of Certificate of Marriage:Office of Public Health Statistics and Information Systems
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 898-3630
Please Note:State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
#MinisterWilmingtonnc, #WEDDINGCELEBRANTNC, #WilmingtonNCMinister, #WilmingtonWeddings